top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFinlay Hall

Portfolio Review

Updated: Apr 19, 2022

Max Ferguson

 

Max Ferguson who owns splash and grab magazine kindly gave my work a portfolio review of the project that I started back in September 2021. When max reviewed my work, he gave me some helpful tips to continue with the work, also what I could add in addition to what I already had completed.


Max offered some advice to me which was:

  • Gaining more reviews of work by book publishers.

  • Understand how my work could develop in a freelance setting.

  • He asked me about my considerations about further study or looking into what area I would like to go into under the topic of photography.

  • Network with other fine art photographers to gain more experience on how to peruse jobs within a freelance capacity.

  • Make connections with artists that are making work in similar contexts to mine to seek advice and maximize my portfolio.


He also commented on how my images could progress:

  • He said that the images could work well in a book capacity or as big life size prints.

  • That I should focus on how to connect the work to myself personally as the project re

lates directly to me.

  • Look at bringing in different props that relate the person to add more of a personal connection to the work.

  • When printing consider what types of paper that will consider qualities in the highlights, mid-tones and shadows.

  • Said that the lighting techniques within the studio were great and the tonality of the images were consistent to one another.



The advice that max gave me, helped me understand my own practice more in depth and how to peruse new career roles out in the industry after graduating.








3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page