top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFinlay Hall

Whitney Hubbs

Updated: Apr 19, 2022

Visual Influence

 

Photographer, Whitney Hubbs, has been a massive inspiration for the work that I have been working towards my own project, xover. Whitney Hubbs creates work on a sexually explicit level, to engage and provoke the viewers thoughts around how the female body is perceived and seen through different gazes. Her images from her book ‘say so’ visually are striking and all form well with the colour pallet and tonality of the photos. Her work focuses on a relationship between the female body and the camera, forcing herself to perform in manners that she wouldn’t usually on a daily basis. The camera is used as a tool of the audience, to depict the difference between the norms of reality and how her body is being displayed to that audience. The brutality of her work, exposes the female body, to an unorthodox way of perceiving her own body, a factor of which I am trying to expose myself and my own audience to. Inevitably creating images in such a manner, confuses and contradicts the role of different female and male gazes.


Image credited to Whitney Hubbs

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Next Steps

Where am I leading to after university? Understanding my practice over the past few years, all practices that I have explored have clearly led to self-portraiture combined with performance aspects. Al

bottom of page