top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFinlay Hall

Portfolio Review

Updated: Apr 19, 2022

Emily Ryalls

 

On Thursday the 7th of April, I had a portfolio review with Emily Ryalls. Emily’s work focuses a lot of self-portrait and ideas surrounding performance in front of the camera, which is similar to the subjects that I have been completing for my final project. Emily gave me some helpful advice which was mainly based around the curation and fabrication of the work I am making. I presented Emily with one of the final curation of my book and presentation of the sizes I will be printing for the final exhibition.


The advice that she gave me for the book was:

  • Keep it to the a5 size that I had originally had, as it helps with the intimacy and feel of the book.

  • The binding of the book, works as it separates the images that are full bleed, which creates a physical crossover in the work, also helps with the feeling of a diary/journal.

  • Look at pairing images up for the book, while no real sequence, look for the images that pair well.

  • All the images work tonally and cohesively.


Advice for the wall mounting was:

  • Stick to what you want to do when hanging work, to not constrain yourself to the typically hung image.

  • Focus on different sizing of images, making some bigger will have more impact.

  • Supported my idea about moving the images around the wall, making it interactive.

  • Put my images up in a domestic space, see how they would look there, as it contrasts the structure of the studio portraits, which then correlates with the name of the book, ‘xover’.

Emily continued to engage with the work, moving it about, pairing the work up to where she thought the work would match best. This evaluation was completely different to my own, this then proved to me that the work could be moved around by different people and still make sense to the work. The last piece of advice that Emily gave me was to continue with the personal work that I was shooting, as it will lead to other ventures such as editorial work in the future. Emily's advice helped me think about future prospects, such as a career in freelance, to have a continuation of aesthetics within my work, giving my work an uninterrupted theme snd direction.


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Next Steps

Where am I leading to after university? Understanding my practice over the past few years, all practices that I have explored have clearly led to self-portraiture combined with performance aspects. Al

bottom of page