top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFinlay Hall

Post Graduate Meeting

Updated: Apr 19, 2022

Careers Teams Meeting

 

Throughout the course of the meeting, the careers team, explained lots of information about different choices when it comes to post-graduate study.


The first section that they went through was if further study is required for the type of job that you are wanting (also if the master’s course would be to assist in career goals). They continued to explain that there were multiple websites such as unistats, and findamasters.com to compare universities’ different course choices and how to find the best university for me. This helped me gain an insight into how the course may relate better to my skills and the ones I am still wishing to learn. For instance, just because the university life may seem appealing in a certain area, the reputability of the course/university may not be up to standard that I am wishing.


The careers team also went through how it important it is to be able to find information about how the university should have good links with employers and how the networking side of the course works in detail. They explained how this was an essential part to my own learning and how it can affect job opportunities in the future.


Lastly, the information about applying and personal statements was a key part in how the application process can help aid a place from the university. In the personal statement we would be expected to include different types of hard and soft skills that would apply to the course. The statement should be split into two sections, half about myself and half about how the course is going to influence my education and creative practice. (Also include career goals). I should also be tailoring each statement differently to each independent university.


This meeting I found insightful and informative, as it has helped me consider more than just applying for post graduate study.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page